Have I spoiled my fish?

Reaction score
Its been getting very cold here in the UK. at the moment air temp in 2.5degrees c (think thats around 36degrees F)
My fish are still very active and also very hungry. I've been feeding them a couple of times a day during the summer........now i've switched to wheat germ and try and feed them once a day.
This is my first winter i'm preparing for. Every time I near the pond they rise to the top looking for food, especially my 3 koi which have outgrown everything else in the pond. My local aquatic center guy has advised me to keep my pump and bio filter running, he's just told me to reposition the pump so the main body of water is undisturbed. Its literally freezing here now but my fish are always looking for some food. Should I stop feeding them altogether? or continue with one daily dose of wheat germ? Complete newbie to winter stuff.

Edit I should have posted in Winter thread :cold:

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
As cruel as it may sound you should now totally stop feeding until the spring , dont worry the koi will make it through without food if they do feel peckish then they will snack on the algea on the sides of your pond, in the spring when the temperature is over 10c for a number of weeks you can start feeding again , however make sure you start again with wheatgerm remember that the koi are at their weakest at this point and open to attacks from Parasites so add chopped garlic to your food or buy the Medikoi wheatgerm and garlic from your local dealers ( order it if you have too). the garlic does two things , it stimulates the koi's urge to eat and also protects it against parasites as it makes the koi unpallatable to them .
I advise you stop feeding next winter at the 10c mark , how deep is your pond please ?
I ask this because it is recomended ponds with koi in should be between 4-5ft deep .