Head scratching ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everybody
I've lost 3 Fish in the space of about a Month, no signs of disease or anything untoward. The water has been tested and everything is fine in that way. But the only thing I can't test is the Oxygen level but I have 2 Air stones plus the waterfall that drops about 3 feet so I would have thought this was adequate in a 1000- 1500 ltr Pond, by the way i'm not a Newbie, Pond been up and running for 13 Years . Any ideas people , Help !!

Reaction score
Country
United States
How old are the fish? Maybe old age if they are original to your pond.

Any chance of some kind of chemical running into your pond or did you do any algae treatment?

JRS

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
What type of fish, size, how many total? New additions-fish or plants? Have heard some reports of birds bringing pathogens into a pond. What levels have you tested? Nitrates? Trying to get a sense of your system. I would agree, does not sound like O2 an issue. Pics might help.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Please check your pH at dawn and at dusk, or as close to those times as possible. If there is a large difference in those numbers, you have pH swings that can kill the fish.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All
Thank you for your replies. In the pond most are 4" a couple at 8" Two at 12" and One at 15" 25 in total , Please don't tell me it's over stocked as previously I had 20 fish 3 at 19" a few at 15" and the rest made up of 6" which lived quite happily until I was wiped out by an Otter over 2 Nights last Year. I am almost certain there is nothing seeping in as it is slightly raised and the liner is above that. Most of the Fish are Koi , smaller ones are mainly Goldfish . The test I do are Nitrite, Ammonia and P.H Thank you all for reading

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States