Ideas for making this waterfall not look so man made

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
Hi all, the title says it all, I’m limited as to what I can do where I am and with what I have so I had to go this route. After I tore apart my waterfall and bog to find a leak I decided to change the waterfall completely. Instead of coming right straight down and into the bog garden I’m trying to have it gently curves around the outside left of the bog. I have a small catching basin made from liner midway down the fall because the birds like bathing around the bog. I just am really unhappy with the jarring edges and man made look. Any ideas?

Attachments

• IMG_7847.jpeg
    IMG_7847.jpeg
    313.7 KB · Views: 64
  • IMG_7849.jpeg
    IMG_7849.jpeg
    315 KB · Views: 62
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I am no expert by any means, I am in the middle of building my pond and bog. We just finished rocking in the framework of the waterfall yesterday. We are going to split the stream so there will be two small waterfalls (at least that is the plan, lol, god only knows if it will work).
I think what you want to do is to be able to frame the plastic waterfall with two larger stones, maybe find a rock that can go across as a bridge between them to try and hide where the water is coming from. I am sure others will have better ideas.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Fun project.

1. Ditch the flagstone pieces as spillways. Use large stones instead. You’d never see that type of waterfall in nature.

2. Plant like crazy around it. If you can’t dramatically enlarge the berm around the falls, you can disguise it with lots of plants. Hide the volcano.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
Hi thanks for the idea. I haven’t finished the top of the falls yet, I’m just not happy with the way it looks at the bottom where it comes back into the pond. .

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
Fun project.