Lots of eggs

Reaction score
So I've had koi for a number of years, & I've had them spawn in the pond, with minimal survivors, & poor quality. (The nice ones always get eat'n!)

This afternoon one of the females was getting chased like crazy. So I pulled her out lightly squeezed a few thousand eggs out of her, then grabbed the best lookin boy that was after her & pushed some "milk" from him into a container. Mixed it up with some water & spread the eggs out in a tank, on a mop head. The waters @ 68-71deg, with some air stones.

After 12 hours about 1/8 of the eggs are white, does that meen all the clear ones are fertile?

Has anyone else tried hatching fry this way? & with what success?

Either way, my pond is full of fish & I dont need the fry, but I'm interested in giving it a go. Let me know what you think.

HTH

Howard
Reaction score
It is called hand spawning. Clear eggs are generally fertile.

I am not an expert. There are several youtube's on doing it for goldfish.
One is supposed to do the male first and then the female.

Good luck.

Reaction score
Ya, I'd watched a few of the vids on utube, Howard. But none of them show how it works out in 1 or 2 weeks.... lol
Just trying to do a few small water changes per day, to get the water quality better for them.
Not sure if i should do a 50%-75% change with RO filtered water at the same temp? The water stinks! My whole garage stinks! lol

Reaction score
Farken said:
Ya, I'd watched a few of the vids on utube, Howard. But none of them show how it works out in 1 or 2 weeks.... lol
Just trying to do a few small water changes per day, to get the water quality better for them.
Not sure if i should do a 50%-75% change with RO filtered water at the same temp? The water stinks! My whole garage stinks! lol
50%-75% is a lot of water change. I would continue to filter it and look at a smaller water exhange. Perhaps 10%

Reaction score
Farken said: