My Pond

Reaction score
I'm very new to Koi Ponds/Fish. I live in PA and it is starting to get cold up here. I bought the house 2 months ago and the Koi's came with it. The pond is about 6' long and 3' wide at it's widest point. It' not quite 3' deep. It's a lined pond. The previous owner said he just disconnects the pump from the filter every year and let's it go. I think he just ran the pump to keep water moving. My question is what should I be doing for the winter? I have 10 fish in the pond various sizes. I'm really enjoying the fish and I want to make sure I'm taking care of them.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Welcome and in PA you may want a pond heater and something to provide air circulation .I am not sure why he says that is all he does,that to me is neglect .If you get leaves net your pond to make sure they do net settle on the bottom and rot .If you have city water it needs treated and see if the bottom is clean .dDoes he a have a filter if not plan on building one next year and also buy them spring and fall food .Koi produce a lot of waste

Reaction score
Thanks for replying. i have a filter and I gave it a good cleaning last month. I think he left the pump run to keep the water circulating. We keep it clean and clear. I do use city water. What do you use to treat the water?

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
They say dechlorinator but I have well water here and do not treat but did learn putting plants in my filters keeps my water really clean .I use lava rock and will be going bigger with my filter so I can put more plants in it .I also use activated charcoal and crushed oyster shells fro tractor supply and I use peroxide to clean my waterfall rocks .I also use quilt batting to pick up the fine stuff that comes from the pump .

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Welcome, Joel!