Need Help Getting Started

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
Hi everybody. Long-time lurker. New to ponds. Put in my first last summer. It's a small pre-formed, half-in and half-out of the ground. I'm a long-time aquarium hobbyist, so fish, plants, filtration and water chemistry aren't new to me and I had no problems.

I'm attaching a photo of where I want to put my next pond. (Yes, it's cluttered and hideous. It's been a long winter.) It's not an ideal space, but it's the only space available to me at this point. It's against the house where we can see it, it's partially shaded, and it's next to an outlet. The open yard is covered in bikes and swings and squirt guns. So this is the spot fate has given me, for better or for worse.

It's not level. More importantly, runoff comes down the sidewalk on the right, makes a right turn and flows across the bottom sidewalk. It takes some of the dirt from that patch when it does, and - here's the fun part - that runoff has at least a little bit of crud from the street in it. The water in the street can't actually jump the curb, but water from the public sidewalk water can come down my way.

So I'm going to need to build up, build a berm, right? I've been going over ideas all winter and have yet to form a plan. The back left corner will be where the waterfall goes. That's all I know. Should I build the entire space up? The space is about 4x4; not a big pond. I've not yet figured out what kind of rock I want to use, or how exactly to construct. My husband is not handy, and my 3-year-old will be lurking around trying to fall in so I need stability in the border rocks. Do I add dirt first? Do I take the dirt I excavate and use it to build the berm?

Would anyone be willing to tell me what you would do if this was your space with which to work?

Attachments

• small pond.jpg
    small pond.jpg
    56.4 KB · Views: 255

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States