New pond......3 dead fish today..argh

Reaction score
Hello all,

Pond newbie here, though I have been researching a lot the last few weeks. Great forum you have going here, been reading as much as possible but today I was presented with my first real issue........3 dead fish.

First some background. Its a pond slightly under 1000 gallons, 6-7 weeks old. Dimensions are approximately 10 x 6 x 2 feet deep ( these are not consistent so I rounded off). It is a retaining wall pond built into the side of a hill. I am running a 2500 GPH pump located in a skimmer and into a waterfall filtration spillway that house bio-balls and pads. The waterfall has 4 stages/levels and drops about 3 feet with a lot of water flow. I should be getting plenty of oxygenation. This plus two more small pumps running into those ornamental frogs that "spit"

I have city water, chlorinated i am sure. In the beginning I filled the pond up with a garden hose and let it run for a week before adding a couple fancy goldfish, starter bacteria and some water hyacinth. For a time I was having a water leak issue, and was needing to add water everyday from the hose. I finally discovered that my water was disappearing through a leak in the hose that fed my waterfall. Through the process I added some Lilly pads and more fish and all was well.