Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
image.jpg
Hello all. I am new to all this and haven't got a clue. I have acquired 10 fish that have been kept in a old header tank from someone's loft. The fish have been kept in there for at least six years that I know. Every week the elderly gentleman that owned them would put them in a bucket pressure wash the tank out refill with a hose and pop them back. As this is getting to much for him I offered to look after them. after reading and reading some more I now know that this is not the best thing to be doing. The fish are still in the tank that they came in but we have added a pump and a filter we also have a air stone going. I have convinced my husband to build them a pond. We have to build up as digging down really isn't an option. We have concrete block laid flat the mix is 3 to 1 can any one advise if this will be strong enough to hold the weight. I am hoping so as my husband has already started it and if so how long is it best left to dry out before we fill it. I hope this makes sense. Thanks for any advice. O the fish we have all look like goldfish apart from one that is rather longer than the others and is all white in colour.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
Joanne,
welcome first of all. What you're doing is fine, My pond is constructed the same way and blocks laid flat will take the pressure of the water. You'll need a liner, and I'd recommend EDPM rather than PVC. There are a few suppliers on the net, and make sure you get the measurements right, plus an allowance for cutting.

If you take a look at my showcase, there are some photos taken during construction.
Chris

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our group! Nice of you to save them! And give them a good home

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom