overflow drain?

Reaction score
I am new to ponding, and have a question. My husband and I finished building our pond a few days ago. It is approximately 1200 gallons (10'x8' by 2' deep). It is lined with EPDM and has a pump and filter.

After finishing the pond, the water was crystal clear. However, we had HUGE thunderstorms/rainstorms the following day, and we woke up to a pond full of dirt. We failed to put in an overflow drain, so all of the dirt surrounding the top of the pond drained into the pond with the rain.

Can someone advise me as to how to put an overflow drain in the pond? I can't seem to wrap my head around doing it, without having to put a hole in the liner. Thanks for any help!!!

Laura

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
if youve got soil running in to your pond are you sure your pond isnt below grade? or maybe its from your edge rocks if you have them. i dont have any drain, but my pond is 9" above grade water flows from my pond not to it. if its below grade fertilizer pesticides etc... will find their way in, not a pretty picture.

DrCase

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
You need to have a way to divert the water around the pond...
And it helps to have rocks or other mat around the edge .
I do have a small spill way that will let the heavy rain spill out into a dry creek and take it away from my pond,,,It is only 1/4" lower than my pond level

Reaction score
Thanks a lot! My husband said the same thing, so he's going to dig out an area between the rocks to divert the water. Now I just have to figure out how to keep the fish from flowing out with it.