Planting bare root yellow flag rhizomes

Reaction score
Wonder if anyone can tell me whether i have planted my yellow flag iris correctly. I recently bought 30+ bare root rhizomes which look lke they have been sliced from a main root (i am no plant expert) as there is basically a sliced cube of rhizome per plant, and they already had several inches of leaves growing. So I planted 3/4 per 13" square pot and covered the very surface of the aquatic soil with gravel, i have placd them in the pond with about 10cm of water between the rhizome and the surface.so most of the leaves are below the surface now, andalthough i have 80 watts of UV I am getting algal growth around the pond and on the iris.

Is what i have done ok or should these be left outside the pond until they have grown some more?

many thanks, Shaun

Attachments

• DSCF3192.JPG
    DSCF3192.JPG
    57 KB · Views: 409
Reaction score
Also, having large Rudd and Mirror/common carp in my pond, are th corners of these large pots safe to fish? or should the be cut off or covered?

HARO

Pondcrastinator
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
Shaun; just want to point out that your UV will have no effect on algae around the plants or the sides of the pond. It only kills algae spores that are free-floating, and can travel through the unit. I prefer to start any iris with the water level no higher than the soil, but yellows are more tolerant than most, and should be OK. Your fish shouldn't have a problem with the square pots, unless something frightens them and they dash about in fear. They could just as easily injure themselves on the pond sides, or anything else in the pond, so I wouldn't worry about the pots. Besides, they look like the plastic pots intended for pond use. They are safe!
John

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States