(probably stupid question ) skimmer

Reaction score
Hey all,

so I was just wondering how does a skimmer with the rest of the pond items work ?

I have filters and pumps in my ponds but skimmer seems very interesting since my ponds are under trees.

Is the skimmer a filtration system in itself ? Can it be added to a filter already installed in the pond ?

I'm sorry if that question is dumb (I'm really a beginner we got our ponds with the house) ... I now about what I have but I've seen videos of skimmers and I feel like it might have been a better option for us since we have all the trees.

Thx a lot

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
From what I know (I am pretty new and don't have a skimmer) they are completely seperate from your filter. It is basically a box with the inlet just at the surface of the pond water with a pump inside. The pump pulls the water from the top also pulling any nasty floating things in the box. Then the pump can be hosed to outlet in a filter or a falls or directly back in your pond. Not sure where all the skimmed debry goes, probably have to empty it out of the skimmer. Probably a pretty helpful addition to a pond under trees.

I am sure some of the much more knowledgable people on the subject will chime in.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Depends on if you buy a skimmer/filter set up, submersible pump in the filter box, water is pulled through the skimmer through some filter material by the pump

I use a skimmer, my pump is external, the water is drawn into the skimmer via piping that goes to my external pump. The skimmer has a leaf basket to catch any debris.

Reaction score
pecan thx a lot for your help :) I guess it's a hard world to figure out as beginners (I'm still a little lost lool ).
addy so you have a skimmer but no filter ?

I have submerged filters and submerged pumps I could replace the submerged filters by skimmers then ?