Relocating a pond

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by pondlover, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. pondlover

    CountryEscape

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7,144
    Likes Received:
    4,577
    Location:
    near Effingham, Illinois
    The pond is indeed beautiful, but the price they are asking is very high priced. At first I thought it was a good deal, but Waterbug is right, you are paying to build your pond ... TWICE!
    Why are they selling the pond? Are they tired of it, or did they buy property, don't want the pond? If they are just tired of it, they will wait until you get your pond built, to the size YOU want, and then buy the rocks and pumps and so forth from the buyer. You can then safely move the fish, if that is what you are wanting to do. Don't let them tell you the fish are worth $100 each, as they are not. If they were, they would have sold them for that. They are extremely expensive to move, and if they don't have an oxygen tank, they could never ship them. It's a hassle. If they can find local people to sell them to, that's fine.
    I moved 11 koi that I bought in July from a breeder 3 hours from me. They were 3" to 9", only 3 were the bigger size, rest were 3-6". The breeder told me to bring large coolers and a aerator for each. Look for them in the fishing dept at Wal-Mart, get the battery operated ones. They will provide the oxygen while you travel with the fish. You don't have to have HUGE containers to put them in, but bigger the better for the fish stress, since they are pretty large. the large trough they have would be nice to use, if you have some type of cover to put over it (netting would work) as they will try to jump during the ride. Looks like there are about 10 koi, so you could also move them in smaller containers like large coolers with lids. It can be done, but the water they will go into is the key. If you get your pond ready first and then transport the fish that would be ideal. Also, if you do end up doing this (for much lower price), bring back as much of their pond water as possible. That's where the large trough could come in handy, or 55 gal drums with lids, too. That way you would have "seasoned" water to help start your new water.
    Think about what you would pay for the rock that they have, then cut the price by at least 50%. After all, you will have extra gas to drive there to get it, loading time (man power or hopefully they would have access to machinery to carry and load ...). The pumps you can figure out value on-line, and again, they are used, so no more than 50% of new. Remember, they might have gotten them at 50% off at a sale! That's why used stuff you pay much lower price, unless it's less than a couple of years old.
    Lots of things to consider, but it's exciting to see it all in place and at least give you ideas. If you go to view it (or maybe you already did or decided not to), look for ideas for your own pond. You may still strike a deal with the owner. Just let him/her have some time to realize they are asking far too much to move the pond. Good luck!
     
    CountryEscape, Jan 16, 2012
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. pondlover

    CountryEscape

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7,144
    Likes Received:
    4,577
    Location:
    near Effingham, Illinois
    Oops, sorry about the double post. My computer is stupid again today. :sad:
     
    CountryEscape, Jan 16, 2012
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. pondlover

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,320
    Likes Received:
    14,351
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    lol blaming that poor puter country shame on you
     
    sissy, Jan 16, 2012
    #23
  4. pondlover

    CountryEscape

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7,144
    Likes Received:
    4,577
    Location:
    near Effingham, Illinois
    Haha, well I didn't type it twice. :) Been giving me problems the last 3 weekends. I have a feeling my satellite internet provider is having mega problems. Time for me to not pay my monthly fee and get their attention. Tired of it working one minute, not the next ... over and over, but mostly not working.
     
    CountryEscape, Jan 16, 2012
    #24
  5. pondlover

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,320
    Likes Received:
    14,351
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    thats why i tell people here buying a house to make sure you have high speed internet where they are looking for a house .they give me what they want and i try to narrow it down and then the go to my agent Art Craft to look at them .I have seen people come here and not think about it and then they have to get hughes net or something.Right now i have century link 19.95 a month
     
    sissy, Jan 16, 2012
    #25
  6. pondlover

    addy1 water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    33,638
    Likes Received:
    18,461
    Location:
    Frederick, Maryland
    Good write up country and waterbug, part of the problem is you see this neat pond set up, visualize it in your backyard and the price seems reasonable, until you step back and break it down. Get caught up in the wow lets get this, like buying a used car, get it home and go shoot.............buyers remorse.

    We only have comcast or hughes net.
     
    addy1, Jan 16, 2012
    #26
  7. pondlover

    CountryEscape

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7,144
    Likes Received:
    4,577
    Location:
    near Effingham, Illinois
    Well, I live in the country so my only option for high speed internet are: through phone company (have to have a land line, extra cost), satellite internet (which was already on the house when I bought it, and has worked very well up until lately, and sure don't have any trees to interrupt the signal!!!) or wireless through Verizon. At this point, I'm not sure which would be best. I am wondering if the internet service I have (satellite) maybe added so many customers lately that it's overloaded? Not sure if that even happens. Anyhow, getting VERY tried of resetting my wireless box and still getting nothing. Computer shows a signal, and it could be my computer, but just so frustrated that I have called, left messages, get no return calls. Called this morning, finally got someone (usually I'm at work by the time they get to work) and she has to call me back because she had 2 other people on the line . Said net was "down" last night. I asked "what about the last 3 weekends in a row?" Now I have to leave to go visit my brother and help him with his medical bills. Grrr .... I hate when things work, then they don't then they do, and I have no idea what happens to cause problems.
    Thanks, Addy, for compliment. I can see that pond being a good deal yet, if they talk the owner into far cheaper amount to get it all removed eventually!
     
    CountryEscape, Jan 16, 2012
    #27
  8. pondlover

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,320
    Likes Received:
    14,351
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    I have a landline and it is worth the extra cost to have high speed internet .When I left nJ to move here they were just starting up internet up there on fiber optic lines and my cousin up there has the fasted internet speed and it is crystal clear .I know here they warn you about satelite internet because of the amount of people on it here plus weather conditions can effect it .The phone company one automatically updates everything so no problems with the speed or with downloads ..My phone company gave me the linksys box and the wireless boxes and they warranty them as long as I am there customer and recently replace my linksys box as it was more than 2 years old and come in and set everything up ,no cost part of the aggreement .
     
    sissy, Jan 16, 2012
    #28
  9. pondlover

    j.w I Love my Goldies

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    24,897
    Likes Received:
    14,762
    Location:
    Arlington, Washington
    We have Comcast and when the power goes out our cable goes out too. They had back up generators on the poles out here but thieves stole them so they say. We don't have Verizon DSL in our hood yet but think that would be your best bet. When we had a regular land line and not Comcast cable phone our phone never went down.
     
    j.w, Jan 16, 2012
    #29
  10. pondlover

    Oldhead

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    marlton nj
    I moved my pond two years ago, liner and all. From one town to another. Will never do the liner again. Moved as much water as I could, maybe 25% of the new pond. Had 2 of my koi jump out but found them in time. one was actually dry and covered with ants but i managed to save him. He later got eatten by a predator. They are all happy now but it was not something that was fun to do. A new liner would have made the whole thing way easier.
     
    Oldhead, Jan 19, 2012
    #30
  11. pondlover

    Clint38

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can somrone help me plz.just brought some fish in brighton.snd i live in Bournemouth its about 2 to 3 hrs away.just wanna know the best way to transport fish without them dying
     
    Clint38, Apr 26, 2017
    #31
  12. pondlover

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,320
    Likes Received:
    14,351
    Location:
    Axton virginia
     
    sissy, Apr 27, 2017
    #32
  13. pondlover

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,320
    Likes Received:
    14,351
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    hope this helps no matter what kind of fish it is the same
     
    sissy, Apr 27, 2017
    #33
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.