Shubunkin eggs, green bubble algae, or bubbles?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm new to garden ponds so please forgive my ignorance. I have a 1,200 gallon freeform pond that I constructed last summer. It has 2 koi, 2 shubunkins and 4 goldfish. Last week one of the shubunkins was being aggressively chased by the other shubunkin and the goldfish. I removed her from the pond, thinking that she might be sick or ready to lay eggs. After a week in confinement in a small container, she is still alive. This morning, I noticed some green bubbles on the surface of the container. Are they shubunkin eggs, green bubble algae, or just bubbles? See attached photo. Thanks.

Dave

Attachments

• bubbles.JPG
    bubbles.JPG
    196 KB · Views: 1,792
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Looks like green bubbles to me.

Why are you removing her? Were you trying to save the eggs? Because the females release eggs when they are basically pummeled by the male (or males) - or manually with help from a human. Are you up for that job? haha!

Also - and I know you didn't ask - but your 1200 gallon pond is going to quickly become too small for your koi. They are probably still small, but the growth will start and you will have whales in your bathtub, so to speak! Just a friendly head's up!

Reaction score
Country
United States

Why are you removing her? Were you trying to save the eggs? Because the females release eggs when they are basically pummeled by the male (or males) - or manually with help from a human. Are you up for that job? haha!

Also - and I know you didn't ask - but your 1200 gallon pond is going to quickly become too small for your koi. They are probably still small, but the growth will start and you will have whales in your bathtub, so to speak! Just a friendly head's up!