Splash off or Leak?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Everyone,

I am new to taking care of my pond, and I am losing water; I think it is from the splash off, how can I determine that is the reason? How do I correct it? Thanks for your help!

Adam

I am trying to attach a video but not allowing me to....I will try and upload pics later, thanks!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum! We've actually got a similar problem with our pond - the water level keeps on dropping, but it always seems to be worse when it's windy or sunny. We've got a net across our pond and I think it becomes a platform from which lots of water evaporates, and when it's windy the water is blown from the fountain away from the pond. It's a tricky one to figure out given the possible causes! I would say that if you have a constant drop in water level despite the external conditions (except perhaps heavy rain) then it's more likely to be a leak... if it's worse when it's windy or sunny then perhaps it's just splashing and evaporation....?

Reaction score
Desoto, Texas (Dallas County) North Texas, Zone 8a
Showcase(s):
Welcome Adam. Allow the water to reach its true level. Somehow mark the waterline then lower the water below that mark. Go around the pond looking for a hole in the liner. I realize the process sounds simple yet it can actually be complicated due to numerous factors. Good luck.

Reaction score
Country
United States
What if I shut the waterfall off for 24 hrs or so and the water stays at the same level, would that mean it is from the splash off? Thanks for your help everyone...

tbendl

T
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Do you have fish and is the waterfall a sole source of filtration or aeration for them? If it's not then I wouldn't see why you couldn't. If it is, you might want to wait for the experts to weigh in since I don't have fish.

Reaction score
Desoto, Texas (Dallas County) North Texas, Zone 8a
Showcase(s):