The lazy ponder.

peter hillman

Let me think for minute....
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
3-5
Country
United States
Basking in the last two years of perfect ponding I got lazy. Didn't think I needed my leaf cover, didn't really care that my pond was over populated. And then we had record rainfall this past season, I have a test kit but didn't use it. I could see the filter was strangling the pump but the weather was keeping me inside. Now, early in the season I've got late summer algae and it seems to be very healthy, surrounding the the pond quite effectively. My creeping jenny is smothered in it, tho I did a partial water change and cleaned the mechanical filtration two weeks ago, it continues to thrive. Now I'm that guy... Too much unwanted algae, if I could believe it wouldn't get worse than this I'd be fine but I've been ponding for 23 years now and this doesn't look goood.
Why didn't I just get the leaf cover out? Why not test the water that was changed several times over by rain and snow? Why didn't I give the guy that wanted more of my fish, more of my fish? Regardless, I think I'm up against a tough year.
039.jpg

Ruben Miranda

I am so confused
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
12a
Country
United States
Hello
I feel your pain brother
Although it has not happen yet I know it is coming last.year I fought it untill the middle of summer.
What a pain in the ?
This year the city made me remove 2 queen palms that gave a lot of shade so you know what that means.

With all the rain we had it is not going to be a good summer.

Ruben

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States