Water Testing

Reaction score
Hi All as alot of you know im new to ponding and am still trying to find out what i need to test my pond for what to test it with how often to test it what level shoud i be testing for and how to treat high levels or low levels of what ever the pond is tested for

Many Thanks

Daz:goldfish:

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
This is what I test for:
Nitrate
Nitrite
Hardness
Chlorine
Alkalinity
PH
Salinity
One test strip does all but the salinity. So you need 2 kits unless you don't salt your pond.

Testing in the beginning is important, after the pond is established you don't have to test unless there is a problem or by a schedule it you want to keep a record.

Reaction score
Darren Felvus 91 said:
Hi All as alot of you know im new to ponding and am still trying to find out what i need to test my pond for what to test it with how often to test it what level shoud i be testing for and how to treat high levels or low levels of what ever the pond is tested for

Many Thanks

Hi all,

I am also test Nitrate, Hardness, PH and salinity because these test are very important for your fish. If you don't test your pond this will harmful for your fish and may be your lovely fish died. :skull: So every newbie must check their pond salinity and other important tests.

Reaction score
i test Nitrate Hardness and PH...if you have a filter thats been running for a while your ammonia and nitrite shouldnt be detectable

Reaction score
Darren Felvus 91 said:

Many Thanks

the cheapest and best way is to get liquid tests to test your water.
But, you might want to start with test strips to get used to testing and it's easyer. laguana test strips seem to be the best for your money.
they test ph, nitrates, akaline, but no ammonia. so get a liquid ammonia test also. I forgot about the ammonia when i started writeing. it's one of the most important.

ammonia, nitrate, and ph are musts and the test kits will tell you what the best readings are for your fish.