Algae Management

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
This is my first year with a fully functional pond, and I have a question about algae build up. From reading here, I know you want a healthy algae build up on the surfaces of your pond, but I wanted to see if what I'm experiencing now is normal. Over the past month or so, my algae has started to grow much longer and thicker than it had through all of the warm summer months, which baffles me. It's gotten thick enough that I've had to change the the batting fiber in my DIY filter twice over the past weeks, just to maintain the water flow.

My question is if this is completely normal, or if I should be concerned. All other aspects of the pond, and more importantly my fish, seem to be completely healthy.

Thanks,
Feddy

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Approximately 250 gallon pond, and I have (4) 4"-5" Shubukins, as well as 3 small feeder goldfish that were in hiding when I added the others. I didn't realize that they were still alive. 7 fish in total.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Nutrients feeding algae then .I have no algae build up .I aerate my pond a lot .Water movement is the key and not over feeding or over stocking your pond

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Sissy, when you say you aerate your pond a alot, what exactly do you mean. I have a regular flowing waterfall, but no other means of aeration.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a/5b
Some algae in a pond is OK. The fish might even nibble on it after you stop feeding them for the winter. My pond tends to get algae blooms in the spring and then again in the fall.