Fish acting lethargic


Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
12,372
Reaction score
12,598
Location
Northern IL
Showcase(s):
1
I'm wondering why the chlorine would show up if you used dechlor? And why now if the pond has been filled for a week? Any chlorine in the water should have dissipated? Unless you have chloramines in your water supply?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
95
Reaction score
80
Location
Ms
Showcase(s):
2
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
I was wondering the same thing, I let the water sit for three days before I ever started cycling the pump/filtration.
 

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
5,670
Location
Pensacola, Florida
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Under the conditions that you have described.....your fish are stressed. They have been in a completely new environment for only about a week, the pond has yet to cycle. you have unnecessarily added 'snake oil' pond treatments.....and, if I read correct;y the pond is only half filled.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
3,211
Reaction score
2,192
Location
North East Ohio-Zone 5
Country
United States
When ever I have a situation where my fish are acting "off" first thing I do is a water change.

Nine times out of ten when fish become ill or start dying it is due to water quality.

Considering you have nitrite showing up and fish acting off/ill I would do a water change.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
95
Reaction score
80
Location
Ms
Showcase(s):
2
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Pond right now
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2727.JPG
    IMG_2727.JPG
    306.1 KB · Views: 201
Ad

Advertisements

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
5,670
Location
Pensacola, Florida
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
When ever I have a situation where my fish are acting "off" first thing I do is a water change.

Nine times out of ten when fish become ill or start dying it is due to water quality.

Considering you have nitrite showing up and fish acting off/ill I would do a water change.
The pond is in the early stage of cycling (one week).
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
3,211
Reaction score
2,192
Location
North East Ohio-Zone 5
Country
United States
Right, In an earlier post I recommend using Prime (to detox the nitrite) but since she obviously doesn't have Prime the next best thing is to do a water change (or use salt but I didn't want to get in to all that being it's a pond and not a quarantine)
 

IPA

Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
692
Reaction score
428
Location
63b Chesapeake-Pamlico Lowlands and Tidal Marshes
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
@Jetta , what is the pond volume and how many inches of fish, number and size, do you have in it? I think @Meyer Jordan has it correct , it's basically a new pond except I'd expect to see something other than 0 for ammonia. But let's make sure that you system isn't overloaded because if it is you may need to take a different approach.

Also, I used to use the stress coat declornator with aloe but switched to pure declornators and just recently the cloromine and heavy metal neutralizer.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
95
Reaction score
80
Location
Ms
Showcase(s):
2
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Oh my! My husband guesses 500 gallons, I have three six inch shybunkins, two three inch shubunkins, one six inch koi. And four one inch babies. I will get a better estimate on volume. (I add water by the bucket so that's how I add dechlor for any questions on that)
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
95
Reaction score
80
Location
Ms
Showcase(s):
2
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
According to an estimator online, my husband is off by 1300 gallons! I'm going to go with 1500 gallons, shelves and such. The average length/width is 10 foot, average depth for the three areas is 2 feet.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
12,372
Reaction score
12,598
Location
Northern IL
Showcase(s):
1
Yup - first thing you always want to know is the size of your pond. Dosing depends on the volume of water being treated.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
95
Reaction score
80
Location
Ms
Showcase(s):
2
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Well I only dosed for five hundred, but I'm not adding anything else to the water. I'm just not sure what to do at this point. Wait and see? Do a water change?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
12,372
Reaction score
12,598
Location
Northern IL
Showcase(s):
1
It seems if you're trying to get your pond to cycle a water change is just going to put you right back at square one. If it were me, I would take a wait and see approach.

I'm still wondering about that chlorine level - any ideas @Meyer Jordan ?
 

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
5,670
Location
Pensacola, Florida
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
'm still wondering about that chlorine level - any ideas @Meyer Jordan ?

What is the test method....strips or liquid? In either case. I believe that this is a false reading for Chlorine.
In addition, after only one week, there should definitely be noticeable Ammonia levels and Nitrite should be rising. I attribute the Nitrate reading to the old pond water.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
95
Reaction score
80
Location
Ms
Showcase(s):
2
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
What is the test method....strips or liquid? In either case. I believe that this is a false reading for Chlorine.
In addition, after only one week, there should definitely be noticeable Ammonia levels and Nitrite should be rising. I attribute the Nitrate reading to the old pond water.
Strips. And I'm going to give it time. I'm as stressed as the fish. I feel stupid for only letting the water cycle for a week before adding the fish. I was just so worried about their stock tank making them sick cause it was small. Now I've made them sick. I haven't noticed any physical things like lesions or discoloration, just general lethargy. And I've been sitting by the pond, in the pond, around the pond since the start.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
3,211
Reaction score
2,192
Location
North East Ohio-Zone 5
Country
United States
The pond or tank doesn't cycle without a source of ammonia such as fish (or by adding ammonia while doing a fish less cycle)

You could (or should have) moved the filter from the stock tank as well as the fish on the same day/time. If you moved the filter without the fish there would be no source of ammonia to keep it going.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top