Getting pond ready for winter

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. I have a Blagdon affinity stand up pond on my patio. Pic attached. It has 4 Shubunkin and 4 common goldfish in it and some water plants. The pond and fish appear to be doing very well so far but I’m not sure (being a newbie) what to do about how to prepare for frosts and possibly snow. I’ve bought a a Blagdon water heater to keep part of the surface clear should it freeze but what about the pond itself. Should I bubble wrap the structure outside to keep it slightly insulated?
Sorry as I said I am a newbie but very keen to look after the pond a sit is my pride and joy.
Any help much appreciated.
Paul

Attachments

• E2A5249C-6FDF-477D-87EF-903606DF3DDB.png
    E2A5249C-6FDF-477D-87EF-903606DF3DDB.png
    165 KB · Views: 18
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b/10a
Country
United States
Hi all. I have a Blagdon affinity stand up pond on my patio. Pic attached. It has 4 Shubunkin and 4 common goldfish in it and some water plants. The pond and fish appear to be doing very well so far but I’m not sure (being a newbie) what to do about how to prepare for frosts and possibly snow. I’ve bought a a Blagdon water heater to keep part of the surface clear should it freeze but what about the pond itself. Should I bubble wrap the structure outside to keep it slightly insulated?
Sorry as I said I am a newbie but very keen to look after the pond a sit is my pride and joy.
Any help much appreciated.
Paul
Hi! Nice looking pond. How cold and for how long does your temperature get? Keeping part of the surface clear of ice will be good for the fish so they get oxygen, and will help prevent ice from cracking the pond itself, but some materials can become brittle in super-cold temperatures that are significantly below freezing for long periods of time. If you're in an area that is only possibly snow, you are probably Ok with your set up, as snow melts fairly quickly.