IP Camera for Viewing Over Internet


sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,605
Reaction score
14,574
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
Why not get the camera I got for my set up ,it zooms in .I got it for the mailbox because someone stole mail from our box .Since the mail lady picks our mail up at the house I may put it on the pond and put that camera at the other one .I use my puter to zoom it in and out .
 

waynefrcan

16 years ponding and hopefully 16 more!
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
1,154
Reaction score
319
Location
Canada
Hardiness Zone
4a
Country
Wifi cameras are 110 v or battery style. No don't want the older hard wired system, times are changing lol.
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,605
Reaction score
14,574
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
I won't have wifi as it gives other people a chance to see you coming and going .I know they can hack anything these days but I want secure and the cloud can be hacked and makes me worry .I have my really secure but it means nothing these days .Even my sister was out and her samsung cell phone was hacked this past weekend
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
335
Reaction score
239
Location
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Hardiness Zone
6a
I have the Samsung Wisenet setup. 8 channel DVR with a 1 TB hard drive. The cameras are wired and have adjustable focal points. Great picture day and night.
I previously had an older Zmoto setup which was a pain because you needed to setup port forwarding. It constantly would lose its settings and the port forwarding would need to be reconfigured. The Samsung unit was a plug and play through the Wi-Fi. Real simple setup. Both systems can be viewed remotely on any device for free. No monthly fees....nothing.
 

waynefrcan

16 years ponding and hopefully 16 more!
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
1,154
Reaction score
319
Location
Canada
Hardiness Zone
4a
Country
I have the Samsung Wisenet setup. 8 channel DVR with a 1 TB hard drive. The cameras are wired and have adjustable focal points. Great picture day and night.
I previously had an older Zmoto setup which was a pain because you needed to setup port forwarding. It constantly would lose its settings and the port forwarding would need to be reconfigured. The Samsung unit was a plug and play through the Wi-Fi. Real simple setup. Both systems can be viewed remotely on any device for free. No monthly fees....nothing.
Wired for power only?
 

waynefrcan

16 years ponding and hopefully 16 more!
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
1,154
Reaction score
319
Location
Canada
Hardiness Zone
4a
Country
I won't have wifi as it gives other people a chance to see you coming and going .I know they can hack anything these days but I want secure and the cloud can be hacked and makes me worry .I have my really secure but it means nothing these days .Even my sister was out and her samsung cell phone was hacked this past weekend
I'm told this also the wifi can be jammed but really the average punk won't have this device.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
335
Reaction score
239
Location
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Hardiness Zone
6a
Wired for power only?
The thin wire has the video and power incorporated into it. You have to run the wire, but there's no worry about camera batteries or wireless Wi-Fi interference.

I want to also note for others...
The previous setup I had was an older Zmoto brand and you had to configure port forwarding with your router. Every time there was a power outage or brown-out the settings were lost. Sometimes my cable company would change things and that would mess it up too. A real pain. I would call Zmoto every time for them to remotely reset my port forwarding. I couldn't figure it out myself. I will say that their support was fantastic even after several years of ownership of obsolete devices. I don't mean to bash Zmoto at all... I'll bet their newer devices are more user friendly.
So, look for easy setup devices. Plus there are some really nice cameras made now too. HD, pan/tilt/zoom, etc.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2018
Messages
206
Reaction score
260
Location
Exact center of Canada
Hardiness Zone
3?
Country
I have a couple on the pond I enjoy seeing all the night activity. Few nights ago 3 deer 5 raccoons and a skunk. Now i know who is digging my moss up.

 
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
335
Reaction score
239
Location
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Hardiness Zone
6a
Most of these systems are great. Even the lower end ones have great features. The Samsung Wisenet kits are under $200 for a 4 channel DVR kit and under $300 for an 8 channel kit. They come with everything you need. They may not be top of the line, but they have a nice picture and many options you can use/setup. I can view live feed, search and play back the DVR, and even record on my phone anywhere I am without any subscription or cloud.

As I said before, if you don't want to go through all the installation or cost of one of these systems, you can always get a trail camera. The batteries last a long time in these things. They have great resolution, record stills or videos onto an SD card day or night and have many options to choose from in their menus. Moultrie is the popular brand out there.
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,605
Reaction score
14,574
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
Mine are fine and the cost was great and have not had 1 problem yet .So my 89 dollars was well worth it and well spent .I am just cheap .But I do like the zoom in camera I got to add to it .I have the 8 camera one at the other house and it works great also and I can check on everything including the horses and that the property is maintained
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
335
Reaction score
239
Location
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Hardiness Zone
6a
I'm trying to upload a video from my trail camera but it won't work. The video is .AVI format. Is that the problem or maybe a 30 second clip is too long? Or does it have to be on a cloud or something?
 

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
34,063
Reaction score
18,930
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
I'm trying to upload a video from my trail camera but it won't work. The video is .AVI format. Is that the problem or maybe a 30 second clip is too long? Or does it have to be on a cloud or something?
I convert mine to you tube then upload here.
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,605
Reaction score
14,574
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
You just have to sign into you tube and it does not cost anything .
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top