Jumping Koi! and Filtration

Reaction score
I recently bought about 20 small and medium sized koi and since it is getting cold here I have been keeping them in a large container indoors instead of placing them in my pond outside. I now have some netting over the lid because they have started to jump out.

1) I read about the water quality not being adequate enough and but I have tested it and it's fine.

2) They can also jump due to them not being comfortable in their new environment (most likely)

3) Parasites this is also an option but I would like to explore other possibilities before treatment

I am considering putting them in the pond for the winter and bring them down to temperature so they will have more room to swim. However, I am hesitant because I am new to koi and I am not sure if I trust them to last all winter. I think my pond is deep enough.

So too options move them into a larger tank indoors OR move them outside.
What do you think the best option would be?

Another issue I am having is the rate at which the koi are dirtying the water because they are bigger fish. Is there a homemade filter that would be best in clearing the water? (In either a pond or indoor container.)

Any or all advice would be much appreciated. Thank you

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
parasites will cause flashing before jumping. thats where youll see them rub their belly or side on the bottom or sides of the pond or objects in it.. they wil swim slowly against whatever it is and suddenly rub against it very qickly showing a flash of reflection off their scales...hence the name "flashing" if its only been a couple days or less it could be stress of the move...longer than that water quality may be the reason. did you dechlorinate the water? what are you doing for filtration? how long have they been in the tubs? number of fish and how big are the tubs?
the diy section here has filter build instructions...several different styles...koiguys 55 gallon biofilter...etc.