Learning As I Go.

Reaction score
Well this is our first pond. Me and my wife love fish and had plenty of indoor aquariums. but that gets old. we wanted something that would tell people what we love as they enter our house. we had a plain old shrub area put in by the builders a couple years ago. it wasn't looking so hot. So we decited to put in a small goldfish pond.

This is our progress. feel free to give critiques and suggest different things. because i am just learning as i go.

My buddy tryin out the preform
IMG_2773.jpg

IMG_2775.jpg

just tryin to see what we might want
IMG_2774.jpg

our old shrubs
IMG_2776.jpg

IMG_2777.jpg

IMG_2778.jpg

took longer than we thought to dig that thing out
IMG_2784.jpg

IMG_2785.jpg

IMG_2789.jpg

IMG_2786.jpg

IMG_2787.jpg

a vid to see water movment and to see if we would like the way it flowed

IMG_2788.jpg

IMG_2795.jpg

IMG_2794.jpg

IMG_2793.jpg

IMG_2792.jpg

IMG_2791.jpg

IMG_3103.jpg
]

a vid of what i looks like now. we have a lot more work to do to make it look pretty.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome and why did you not go with liner pond as that will not be deep enough for fish in your cold winter unless you get a pond heater .Plus it would have been much cheaper .You could have stayed with the top preform and waterfall and did a liner pond for the bottom that way you could have went deeper .

Reaction score
I kept 12 goldfish in a slightly smaller version of that liner here in Indiana so unless you're in Alaska you should be fine, but I cannot disagree with the sentiment. A liner of the same price as those pieces you bought would probably give you a pond with 5 times more volume, and would be totally unique as you would design the pond yourself. All in all though it's a great start, the pieces look good together, and once you've got it landscaped all sorts of wildlife will start finding its way to your yard.