Need help

Reaction score
Country
United States
Sorry this is super long: I kind of jumped head first into building a pond for my pet call ducks. I realize that ducks are dirty messy creatures and this may be a failed endeavor, but the alternative was filling and draining 110 gallon stock tank every few days.

Short story: I have the underlayment and 10x15' epdm liner in. With another HDPE liner for the waterfall area. Depth is about 30" at the deepest. I have a Pondmaster 1200 gph pump with a prefilter in a pump bag. I also have a 110 gallon stock tank that will turn into the biofilter/waterfall originator.

Long story:

The area is naturally sloped and had an existing depression that does not receive much rain runoff. I dammed up the low point with large logs and packed native clayey/sandy soil.

Underlayment in, which was supposed to be 10'x15', but after the liner was in, realized it was more like 12'x15' (I didn't want to redig everything after assuming the underlayment would be the same size as the liner, so I am trying to make it work, even though the liner is a little too small.)
20210724_185958.jpg

EPDM liner in and starting to put in gravel. That fold in the liner in the rear right of the pond will be an overflow, that will be well downstream of the dam. Sometimes we get really heavy rains here.
20210726_143358.jpg

Waterfall area with a different kind of liner, HDPE I think. There is a minimum of 1 foot overlap between the two liners. The pump in the bag is temporarily there to keep the water moving. The rock was dusty even though I rinsed it a bunch.
20210728_184512.jpg

In the previous picture you can kind of see the existing 110 gallon stock tank which I am planning to turn into a biofilter, and have the waterfall originate from.