New Kid in Town

Reaction score
Hello my name is John, my handle hear is DaneDad as I own a new Great Dane puppy, I'm also know as BoxerDad on some other forums as I have a 9 year old Boxer as well
I'm interested in building an above ground pond using 4x4x8 pressure treated posts or 4 x 6 x8 landscape timbers. The pond will be a square 8'x8'x3' with a total volume of approximately 1,400 gallons.

I live on Long Island NY and plan on housing the fish outdoors through the winter. I'm planning on heaters as well as an insulated cover almost like a hot tub cover but of course with openings for some air exchange. I've been a tropical fish hobbyist for many years and have breed discus successfully. At one time I had 9 pair's.

So any help or suggestions would be appreciated as well as any links for filtration ( homemade) as well as some pond design plans etc....

Thank you

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
WELCOME again lol

Frogswelcomev.gif

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome danedad and meet my big boy his name is Hershel

Attachments

• hershel 071.jpg
    hershel 071.jpg
    114.5 KB · Views: 251

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a