New Pond SOS - Pumps & Filtering

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello Everyone,

Thank you for taking the time to read my thread and to anyone who responds.

I've recently purchased a 50 gallon raised wooden pond to house 2-3 goldfish and to add some character to my garden (Picture attached). When purchasing, I was recommended to purchase the below Filter & Water pump (solar) however, the filter is submerged and is around 1-2 inches from the surface... I'm no expert (newbie actually) but I feel a filter should be deeper?

Filter: ecofilter 4000
Water Pump: Pondxpert solar shower 300 (pumps 300lph - when theirs sunlight)

What would you recommend?

I've recently planted some oxygenator plants and floaters to provide shade, along with iris (more to add) which will hopefully provide further natural filtration.

Although the fish are not housed, the water level seems to be excellent!

I'm worried that when the fish are housed, the filter media will not work effectively and the quality of water will rapidly reduce. Any advise would be welcomed!

Thanks in advance :)
IMG_3514.jpg
IMG_3521.jpg

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome @Ethan1991 - very cute pond!

By "water level" do you mean the water quality? The only way to truly now your water parameters is to get a good test kit. I'm not really familiar with your particular filter, but honestly for goldfish it's not all that critical. Aeration is more beneficial. I'm not sure a solar pump will keep the fountain going day and night, but it's worth a try!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome @Ethan1991 - very cute pond!

By "water level" do you mean the water quality? The only way to truly now your water parameters is to get a good test kit. I'm not really familiar with your particular filter, but honestly for goldfish it's not all that critical. Aeration is more beneficial. I'm not sure a solar pump will keep the fountain going day and night, but it's worth a try!