Patio Ponds & Aquarium Heaters

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by kathymalaspina, Jun 24, 2012.

  1. kathymalaspina

    kathymalaspina

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Hi everyone....new to this forum. I have a question. I have a 35 gallon patio pond.I know its a baby. lol Years ago had a 1200 gallon. Anyway I was wondering when the winter months come and the temp drops to where the fish go dormant and don't eat...instead of letting the cold weather take over and it freezes, (don't want to use a de-icer) I was wondering if I put a submergible heater like I have in my 30 gallon inside aquarium, keep it warm enough so that they are active year round. Has anyone ever tried this and do you think it would work???? Appreciate any feedback. Thanks and glad to be here.
     
    kathymalaspina, Jun 24, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. kathymalaspina

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,320
    Likes Received:
    14,351
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    depends on where you are in NC as you could just keep a pump in there moving water to keep it from freezing .Not sure those submersable heaters for inside could take the cold weather outside .The pond deicer you can get really cheap this time of the year but even a 100 watt one may be too much for 35 gallons .You could use an air pump like the one at petco .it has 4 outlets and is less than 30 dollars i have had one for 4 years now and it still works great .You will just have protect it from getting wet .
     
    sissy, Jun 24, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. kathymalaspina

    kathymalaspina

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have a great STRONG filtration system and also a spitter...so the water is moving great. I have horses and I have a de-icer I bought a couple years ago for a water trough. I could use that....Same one they are selling for ponds......but I was wanting to keep enjoying them all year round..lol I may just try it and see how it goes. I am near the Va. line in North Carolina..closer to the coast. We hardly ever see snow...like they do inland...thanks for answering.
     
    kathymalaspina, Jun 24, 2012
    #3
  4. kathymalaspina

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,320
    Likes Received:
    14,351
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    I am near NC about 15 minutes but more inland as the bottom center of the state near the Martinsville Speedway .We saw a little last year but the year before was bad .I have a friend who lives near Norfolk
     
    sissy, Jun 24, 2012
    #4
  5. kathymalaspina

    brandonsdad02 They call me Ryan

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Indianola Iowa zone 5a-5b
    I have a air pump in my pond. You should keep it covered but mine has been just sitting next to the pond for the past 2 years now and its still going strong. I live in Iowa so we do get some awesome storms sometimes. I tried keeping my pond going last winter but I just couldn't keep the water open. I tried everything but since my pump is inside my skimmer box it was hard. Once the ice started to form inside the skimmer box I just shut it down for the winter. I had to get a stock tank to bring the fish inside and slowly brought them up to room temp water. I took pond water and put it in the stock tank, then put large chunks of ice from the pond and put them in the stock tank as well. drained the rest of the pond and caught the fish to bring inside. I didn't loose a single fish. but I did miss a few that were hiding in the pond. I tried the aquarium heater too and it just ran non stop. The fish enjoyed it because they are all around it but it just wasn't big enough.
     
    brandonsdad02, Jun 24, 2012
    #5
  6. kathymalaspina

    don't ask

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hanover, Pa
    welcome kathy... i would think your idea could work as the heaters don't come on till temp gets to low and then shuts off at a predetermined temp? between using that, your strong filter and air i would think you would be good to go... worse case scenario would be bring inside?
     
    don't ask, Jun 24, 2012
    #6
  7. kathymalaspina

    taherrmann4 Tmann

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    695
    Location:
    Louisville KY
    You may need to insulate the outside of the pond if it is exposed and you may want to have a cover for it with a small vent hole for the nights where it is going to get really cold.
     
    taherrmann4, Jun 24, 2012
    #7
  8. kathymalaspina

    kathymalaspina

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
     
    kathymalaspina, Jun 24, 2012
    #8
  9. kathymalaspina

    Waterbug

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    If you can maintain the temp your fish would think they were in the middle of summer. As so absolutely you can do this.

    However, if there's a problem it's probably going to be a big problem. Heater fails, power goes out, a 35 gal above ground pond is going to cool very fast if this all happens during a cold period. Fish can deal with cold water if the temp goes down slowly. It's impossible to predict, but In this case the smart money would be on the fish dying.

    The R factor for poured concrete 10" thick is 0.8. The R factor for dry stacked concrete blocks with gaps is zero. Your bricks provide no insulation and may even pull energy out of the pond.

    I read a lot of forums on raising tilapia and many people heat the water in winter. In one case a guy had a huge tank in his basement and was using 2 large aquarium heaters. They worked great right up until one melted. Not only did it kill all the fish but it filled his home with a smell so bad they had to stay in hotel while it got cleaned up. Aquarium heaters are designed to work indoors where the ambient temperature is reasonable, so they're expected to raise the water temp 10 to 20 degrees. Outside they could be running 100% of the time, well beyond their intended use. Just depends on how lucky you are.

    Experienced tilapia growers seem to either heat the building or use a heating element from a hot water tank. I would guess there are manufactured heaters made to handle cold weather, but I can't remember reading of anyone using one.
     
    Waterbug, Jun 24, 2012
    #9
  10. kathymalaspina

    kathymalaspina

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Wow you have brought up a ton of good points....wonder why someone has not designed an outdoor heater (not just a de-icer) to heat ponds during the winter months. Thanks bunches for your insight. Going to rethink this or find a heater that WILL keep it above freezing. I have an electric 15 gallon horse tub that keeps the water during the winter at 59 degrees. It never gets close to freezing. Going to my equine distributors and check their sites for water trough heaters....they are made to run continous. Thanks again. Will post what I find out. :eek:)
     
    kathymalaspina, Jun 24, 2012
    #10
  11. kathymalaspina

    kathymalaspina

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    kathymalaspina, Jun 24, 2012
    #11
  12. kathymalaspina

    kathymalaspina

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    kathymalaspina, Jun 24, 2012
    #12
  13. kathymalaspina

    kathymalaspina

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
  14. kathymalaspina

    kathymalaspina

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    kathymalaspina, Jun 24, 2012
    #14
  15. kathymalaspina

    Waterbug

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    As I said, I assume there are. The forums I read who used elements out of water heaters said things like DIY being cheaper. Can't be a huge market for 35 gal pond heaters.
     
    Waterbug, Jun 25, 2012
    #15
  16. kathymalaspina

    kathymalaspina

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Well the patio pond kits are coming out in all the stores. they are really neat. Lowes carries a really great one. It even has windows half way down the sidewalls that so you can view the fish underwater. The big pond I use to have I finally gave the fish away and filled it in because I could not keep the snakes out of it. I had a PILE of them...with a patio pond, no snakes and its easy to cover with netting. What is DIY? Lost me on that one. lol
     
    kathymalaspina, Jun 25, 2012
    #16
  17. kathymalaspina

    don't ask

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hanover, Pa
    Kathy if you can't find a continuous outdoor heater...which may or may not get costly running all winter... you might be able to try and insulate the outside on pond with dirt, burlap, or something similar and then wrapping the whole thing in say plastic sheeting to keep from getting wet... keeping it dry and not wet will better help with insulating.. not sure how feasible, kinda grasping at straws here
     
    don't ask, Jun 25, 2012
    #17
  18. kathymalaspina

    j.w I Love my Goldies

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    24,893
    Likes Received:
    14,757
    Location:
    Arlington, Washington
    DIY is Do It Yourself :)
     
    j.w, Jun 25, 2012
    #18
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.