planning my first pond

Reaction score
thinking of having a 6 foot x 4 foot x 17 inch deep square pond,made with a sturdy wooden frame and lined with pond liner.what i want to know is how important is it to have a pump/filter, i intend to put fish in it, I do a lot of fishing and obviously the fish i catch or healthy but they come from a water with no pumps or filters,or are the pumps/filters only there to keep the water clear,and not to keep the fish alive?

GreatDanesDad

Electro-Mechanical Engineer
Reaction score
I am pretty new to the game as well, but the idea of a pond without a pump and filter is like building a mansion without a bathroom. In lakes, streams, and anywhere else you would catch “healthy” fish, there is a large amount of surface area under the water for beneficial bacteria to grow. These bacteria live on the materials and chemicals that would make your fish sick, and in-turn “filter” the water by consuming these items. You may get many responses explaining everything is such detail that it will be overwhelming, but the easiest analogy I can think of, is the pump acts, “flushing” and the bio-filter full of beneficial bacteria assures that the water being circulated back into your pond is clean. There is also the subject of oxygenation. There are so many schools of thought on this, but the water needs to be circulated one way or another to absorb O2 into the water for the fish to extract through their gills. Hopefully that helps. And as for the depth of the pond, fish need clean water, nutrients, oxygen, and an amicable temperatures. You have to decide if your pump/biofilter can clean the water properly, what to feed, and decide if your circulation is enough for the fish you have. Depth never hurts, but many people keep shallow ponds that are very healthy and grow amazing fish and plants.

Reaction score