Rookie pond owner plant questions

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Hi all
I'm new to pond ownership and looking for some advice on what kind of plants to use in my pond. I posted the other day in the new pond section and received some great advice on some questions and issues I was having so I thought I would let you veterans show me the way here also. Lisa in Chicago jump in if you don't mind. First my pond is somewhere between 3000-4000 gallons, I'm on Long Island NY and the pond has a 7200GPH pump with a large gravel bog area and a biofall at the other end. Rock walls and gravel bottom. I get a good amount of sun till late afternoon when the house shades the pond. I'm trying to get a idea of what type of plants to use. I know nothing about these water plants. I will have about 15 Koi in the pond. (they are already in the pond). I'm planning on leaving the plants in pots. I have read that some root so hard into gravel that they can be difficult to remove or trim? My bog area has a vault buried in it with my pump. I want to put plants there. Its a shallow area about 4x4. I will need to get to pump occasionally so I don't want roots to make it difficult to access the vault. I'm thinking some kind of lily's in that area? Pond has shelves around perimeter about a foot deep so I guess I can put plants around anywhere. What type of plants are better for the pond water? What are the pros and cons of plants you recommend? Is there a website I can go that shows pictures of the plants? How do you put plants in? Pots or not? Do the roots in potted plants still grow through the holes in the pots to root in gravel? I had this built to look as natural as possible. I would like to have some lily pads and add some color.
Thanks for any help.
I'm going to post a picture of the pond now. The left side is the bog area. Also would like to get a vine type plant to plant(not water plant unless there is one that would do that)
IMG_6255.JPG