What kind of fish I have

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, my name is Tom and I don't know what kind of Goldfish I have in my pond. These fish were in there when we bought our house 10 years ago. So this is my first time trying a forum to reach out for advise, and hope I can get some questions answered about my fish. First thing is to figure out what Kind of fish I have, And if I can post a picture or video to help do that. Next, in the video I DO post, can someone identify an issue that one of them is having? Oh.... And can you tell which sex? One of the fish (who I've named Sally, and why I asked about the sex) Sally, has grown such a big tail that when she isn't moving her tail is pulling her back end down and puts her in a vertical position, even flips her backwards and upside down. So she keeps swimming around to keep this from happening, and I can tell that she is becoming very stressed out. It seems to be stressing the others out as well. Oh.... Guess I should mention that I have a total of 7 of them. Anyway, I will start figuring out if I can do pics or vid clip of them for you. I am using an old iPad, so if I can do that I will, if I can't I will try another method. Thanks ahead of time for reading, and helping if you can.

JRS

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
Welcome, Texas T!

Goldfish are a hodgepodge of types that have been bred for desirable characteristics such as fins, form and color from the original form.

Some info on the basic types: https://animal-world.com/encyclo/fresh/goldfish/Goldfish.htm

Some body forms with the large fins and or short bodies can have more trouble maintaining neutral buoyancy due to their body structure and/or compressed swim bladder.

Sexing is difficult, especially from pictures. Here is some info: http://www.bristol-aquarists.org.uk/goldfish/info/sexing-fs.htm

Reaction score
Country
United States