What plants for my Florida pond

Dbarr1575

Good with aquariums, new to ponds
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Hi everyone, this is a picture of my pond from a few months ago. I am in the process of clean out and reset up and wanted to add more plants, but I wasn't sure what plants would work. It's not a very big pond, only about 250 gallons. I am also in need of where is a good place to buy plants. I'm hoping to get the pond to work naturally but I understand ponds this size might need more maintenance. I'm experienced with aquariums but even though I've had this pond for almost 4 years I still feel I am a newbie. I had a service taking care of it, but had a lot of problems and lost all of my fish, so decided I could lose fish well enough on my own and save the money. So here I am to learn. But this question is specifically about plants. Thank you for any help you can give me.

FYI the water fall does work, it was just off when this picture was taken.

Attachments

• IMG_1852.JPG
    IMG_1852.JPG
    92.2 KB · Views: 98
Reaction score
Country
United States
What a beautiful pond! The landscaping is spectacular. This is one of those few times that I wouldn't clutter the pond with a bunch of plants. Perhaps a water lily but not much more. It is simply exquisite as is. Do you think you need more plants for biological filtration? If so, you can do a bog filter to achieve that and it looks like there might be one off to the left.

Dbarr1575

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States