Cloudy pond water in winter

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6-7
Country
United States
This is my second winter NOT using a waterfall. I had a pipe burst last year and decided to only use bubblers this year. I noticed 3 days ago that my pond water as become very cloudy. Temperatures varied from the 60's 2 weeks ago to the teens this week. I have never dealt with cloudy water in the winter. I have a koi pond of approx 1600 gallons with admittedly too many fish. I have been tending a pond for over 13 years, but did rebuild this one 2 years ago adding depth and wide, changing from a testy pressure filter to a waterfall filter. I have had a great increase in birds drinking from it this year as they can stand on the ice now to drink as the waterfall is off and only the bubblers are running. Could the bird droppings be causing fouling of the water? Is there a bacteria I need to add? Dare I do a water change in the winter? Any guidance would be appreciated!

Details of build:

1600 gal
approx 8 x 12 feet
greater depth 5 feet
Waterfall filter
4 bubblers
Southern New Jersey pine barrens

IMG_8276 smaller.png

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
@addy1 HAS A LARGE POND WITH GOLD FISH THEY CONSUME A HECK OF A LOT LESS o2 THEN DOES KOI.{damn keyboad loves caps} I would not shut down o2 in a koi pond unless it too is huge with a limited bio load.

water changes with temps that are similar to each other can work. Or increase your filter system try using a wad of cotton or synthetic batting and have the water drain through that

cas

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
My pond also use to get cloudy at the bottom during winter. Since beginning to use a pond breather in addition to the air stone I don't have the problem anymore. The pond breather slightly recirculates the deeper water since the pump is 2 feet down while the air stone is only about 1 foot down.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins