Hello from Tennessee

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
I'm new to this forum, but have been in wood working and biking forums.
I plan to build a pond next spring. Too much weirdness to start anything new in 2020.
This will be my first, but I've been a project engineer / process engineer for the last 48 years so I'm used to making stuff.
My hope is to have something about 5 to 6 ft wide, 10 to 12ft long and up to 2ft deep, holding about 750 to 1000 gallons.
I want to have a waterfall on one end and would like a lot of plants and big gold fish.
Too ambitious for a newbie ?? Any and all constructive criticism and comments welcome.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our forum!

Where do you live? ie cold or warm

That sounds like a good plan, like most of us have learned make it as big as you can! A lot of us wanted bigger once done.
Read up on bog filtration, I only filter my ponds with a huge bog. No filters that need to be cleaned.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
WHAT? 2020 was the perfect year to build a pond! haha!

Anyway - welcome and heck no... not too ambitious at all! Hang around here, read lots of posts, and by spring you'll be rarin' to go!

Do you have a spot picked out? First thing you want to think about is your viewing area - where will you sit to enjoy the pond? Where are your viewing spots from inside the house? You want to be able to enjoy your pond every single day, year round.