Pump and filter and liner info please

Discussion in 'Pond Construction & Equipment' started by Norwich1986, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. Norwich1986

    Norwich1986

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Hello ima newbie to all this really.

    I moved into a property and it had a pond in. I put in 4-6 gold fish and its been fine. It's 5ft wide(the widest point) 9 ft long and 3 ft deep.
    I have been loosing a lot of water so I emptied it out to find a 2 inch hole in it....the other issue is I didn't realise it didn't have any underlay either :(

    I've been told for liner and underlay its going to cost £100 roughly. Don't know if that's expensive.

    The other issue is I only had an easyclear in there and it doesn't work very well. If I made it 5ftx9ft and 3ft deep all over what pump and filter would you recommend? I don't want to spend a fortune, just a middle of the road pump and filter box(if that's what I need)
    Thanks in advance as I just don't have a clue
     

    Attached Files:

    Norwich1986, Aug 6, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Norwich1986

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,320
    Likes Received:
    14,351
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    use carpet padding or old carpet it is free or sand to keep rocks from damaging the liner .Try to pick out surface rocks and gravel
     
    sissy, Aug 6, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Norwich1986

    Norwich1986

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Thanks, do you recommend any pump and filter systems middle of the road, 4000-5000 litres? Thanks
     
    Norwich1986, Aug 6, 2013
    #3
  4. Norwich1986

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,320
    Likes Received:
    14,351
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    Not sure what you can get there but you can check pump ratings according to how many gallons your pond holds .A filter you can build yourself much cheaper and better than anything you can buy plus adds sound to your water as a water feature .You tube has lots of filter builds ,plus lots of ideas on here .I built mine and I think it cost less and works better than anything I could buy
    [sharedmedia=core:attachments:57794]
    [sharedmedia=core:attachments:54702]
    [sharedmedia=core:attachments:53600]
     
    sissy, Aug 6, 2013
    #4
  5. Norwich1986

    dieselplower

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    993
    Location:
    near Kalamazoo, Michigan
    You could use that same liner to make the entire thing the same depth. Just spend a few dollars on a patch. I would suggest turning the pond over one time per hour minimum.
     
    dieselplower, Aug 6, 2013
    #5
  6. Norwich1986

    Nepen

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    Location:
    NC, US
    I think you will be able to find a patching kit, and just use the old liner. Or you will have a bigger job trying to replace that liner.

    For pump, figure how much water you have and get a pump that has a littre per hour about as close as the pond volume as possible.
     
    Nepen, Aug 6, 2013
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.