Remote installation for skimmer

Reaction score
Hello, i am new to the pond world. i just put in a pond in my front yard and when i put my Tetra Skimmer in i noticed how big and bulky it was compared to my 250 gallon pond. so i have been thinking of a way to put the skimmer out side of the pond and make it work.

i stumbled on this skimmer design and it got me thinking...why cant i just use pvc, a tubbawear container and my skimmer. i know my skimmer and the one in picture are diffrent as mine is a weir door type, but would this still work?

piperremote.gif

i could use the pvc design and then put my skimmer in a burried container like this http://www.walmart.com/ip/Sterilite-10-Gallon-Tote-Box-Set-of-9/10401036 and fill the void around the skimmer with pebble rock.

my skimmer http://www.tetra-fish.com/sites/tetrafish/catalog/Detail.aspx?id=4457

would this still work?
and i have a 1300 sicce pump if that matters

IMG_3103.jpg

i would move the skimmer to the out side of the small side of the pond about 1.5 feet out. close to the porch.

Reaction score
I would ditch the skimmer all together, you can scoop out the stuff on the surface with your hands. I have a similar sized pond and if I need to skim it I put the hose in it for 5 minutes, the overflow completely clears the surface. If you don't want to do that I'd just get a pool skimmer net, you don't even need a long handle, just the skimmer.

I think fabricating your own skimmer is probably doomed from the start, the opening flap especially will be hard. I'd say just put it in storage until you build a bigger pond.

Something else you can do is raise the pond or put a small wall of rocks around it to keep debris from blowing in in the first place. The less debris you have the less need for surface skimming.

Reaction score
yeah i see what you mean, the reason i bought it was that everywhere i looked said that the skimmer was a have to have. even in small ponds.