Help me design my pond

Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
45
Reaction score
20
Country
United States
I have been reading here for awhile. I am going to build a new pond.Have several koi I rescued in a 350 gallon preformed pond.I need a bigger pond. I have decided on a 12x14 4 foot deep liner pond. Can I do a bog filter and it be ok? Do I need a bottom drain and a skimmer? Please help me with a design.I am doing that much depth because I live in nc and it gets cold here in the winter.Thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,804
Reaction score
14,750
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Any filter can be a bog ass long as it has plants in it .I put plants in both of my filters and only thing is with them in my filters it is easy to pull them and trim the roots and split the plant up .I have a preformed I bought and have been considering using it as a filter .I have a temporary filter still on the one side and have wanted to change it but had to put a new liner in again after a dog destroyed my liner again .Great that you are thinking ahead .
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,804
Reaction score
14,750
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
that is more than enough ,since you have koi think ahead and go big if you have the space .I am at 5000 gallons .My liner was around 350 dollars on sale from dr foster and smith with free shipping and you can also get one from webbs water gardens online .pumps were laguna 4 years warranty were around 400 dollars and laguna aerator was 149 dollars Stock tank filter I got a house sale 3 of them brand new for 25 dollars .Lava rock in my filters 3 bags 10 dollars .Most of my plants I got on trade for other things I had that were extras
 
Ad

Advertisements

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,804
Reaction score
14,750
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Remember koi stress out real easy and need lots of filtering because they produce a lot of waste .That is another good reason for great aeration
 
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
969
Reaction score
492
Hardiness Zone
13b
hi welcome , how many koi u have and how long are they ? i assume u are having 5 to 10 large koi

bog need to be 10 to 30% of total pond

bottom drain and skimmer will be good . if u can then why not . they help in removing waste , skimmer if u have leaves and want surface clear from dust and oils

with bottom drain and skimmer u will need lesser bottom cleaning .IMO if u are comfortable
vacuuming or cleaning bottom every few months then u can only have any mechanical filter with bog without skimmer and bottom drain .
 
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
1,045
Reaction score
498
Location
Le Roy, New York
Do you plan on digging it by hand or hiring someone? The budget will take a big bite having something that big dug but its really the only way to go. Id get estimates first and work from there.
 
Ad

Advertisements

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,804
Reaction score
14,750
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I just use a swimming pool net for the bottom and I really don't get anything blowing in the pond so no need for a skimmer ,so that will be up to you and your situation .It was me and my shovel against the ground and I won ;)I wanted to rent something to dig with but people had rent the smaller one and had not returned it yet .For rocks it was easy borrow them from creeks and I got some when I was down at Cherokee NC
 

Patfish

Ignore the mask and cape
Joined
May 8, 2017
Messages
233
Reaction score
306
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
take pictures along the way
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
723
Reaction score
378
Location
NJ
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
I have been reading here for awhile. I am going to build a new pond.Have several koi I rescued in a 350 gallon preformed pond.I need a bigger pond. I have decided on a 12x14 4 foot deep liner pond. Can I do a bog filter and it be ok? Do I need a bottom drain and a skimmer? Please help me with a design.I am doing that much depth because I live in nc and it gets cold here in the winter.Thanks
welcome, you sound just like me
I rescued 10 fish, none koi, last december from a lady moving to Florida
they have been overwintering in my garage and now need a forever home
My pond will be about half your size as I don't plan to raise koi. My budget is only about $1000, as I already have the filters, aerator, waterfall kit and decorative rocks from the previous owner
 
Ad

Advertisements

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,804
Reaction score
14,750
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
AHHH free is always good and most expensive part will be your liner and a pump I guess .I have been slowly downsizing my pond fish .Fancy tails will go and I will only keep aggie and bert (koi )and olive oil and popeye .( fatfantails )
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
723
Reaction score
378
Location
NJ
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
AHHH free is always good and most expensive part will be your liner and a pump I guess .I have been slowly downsizing my pond fish .Fancy tails will go and I will only keep aggie and bert (koi )and olive oil and popeye .( fatfantails )
why may I ask are you downsizing?
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,804
Reaction score
14,750
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
to much work for just one person .I don't like to fail at things so making it easier on me .Mowing trimming and all the yard work besides house work and grocery shopping is just to much .In 2004 I retired here and I had a house and dirt and I made it into something but that something is getting to be to much .I guess it happens to a lot of us ponders .We need to think ahead .
 
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
45
Reaction score
20
Country
United States
I never did update this. I ended up doing a 10x10x4 ft deep pond. Half above and half below ground. I did bog filters without a bottom drain. I also put up a greenhouse over the pond in winter.
pond.jpg
pond1.jpg
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top