Let's do it again Sam


tbendl

T
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
4,393
Reaction score
4,220
Location
Gulf Coast-Mississippi 8b
Showcase(s):
1
Hiya fellow ponders,
So as some of you know, I used a recycled tarp for my pond. I also choose to go with regular hose and smaller tubing for my bog and... well whatever, ya'll were right when you told me not to.
So guess what I'm planning this spring/summer/fall?
Yup, rebuild! Anyway I wanted some links for the liner if you have them and if someone could refresh on the tube/hose sizes for the bog area that'd be great, )I'm sure I could find it but I'm just.... busy with school aka...lazy).
Since it's been up for a year I've got some things I'm going to change, enlarge the bog, try and dig a small shelf for rocks around the edges and possibly relocate the bog or find a way to blend it a bit better so any recommendations are welcome. I've attached a recent photo so you can get a better idea.
Thanks guys! Looking forward to pond season!!
pond august1.JPG
 
Ad

Advertisements

tbendl

T
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
4,393
Reaction score
4,220
Location
Gulf Coast-Mississippi 8b
Showcase(s):
1
Also, would this work... If I drop the pond level down just a bit I could dig the shelf before having to empty the pond. Could I then save as much pond water, moving the fish into buckets or a kiddie pool. Refill the pond like the same day with the new liner, drop the old liner back in on top of it, fill, and put the fish back in after a short period of time?
 

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,392
Reaction score
27,951
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Agree you can dig the edge down with a drop in the water level. I have done it before, rather than drain the entire pond. Just don't chop the liner with the shovel.

My bog pipe size in 2 inch, dig the new bog area, use the dirt to raise it above ground level by just a little have it flow out into your stream to the pond.
 
Ad

Advertisements

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
32,914
Reaction score
15,542
Location
Axton virginia
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
there are great pics of streams on HGTV and DIY network.com and pinterest and also ones on you tube and you can also google streams and I saw pics there .Hope you will have help as those liners can be heavy ,i know first hand doing it by your self is a nightmare
 

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
4,969
Reaction score
9,337
Location
Wisconsin
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I got my liner on ebay, of course I always look for a top seller with a high rating, and if possible, from a business rather than an individual.

I'm excited to see what you do! New builds are always fun to watch, and even better when I'm not the one doing the work! (y)
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
32,914
Reaction score
15,542
Location
Axton virginia
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Got mine on sale at dr foster and smith on presidents day with free shipping and got a 20x25 but it was bigger 247 dollars .
 

cas

Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
2,201
Reaction score
2,915
Location
NE Ohio
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Good luck in your rebuild. We want pictures all the way through it! :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

tbendl

T
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
4,393
Reaction score
4,220
Location
Gulf Coast-Mississippi 8b
Showcase(s):
1
Agree you can dig the edge down with a drop in the water level. I have done it before, rather than drain the entire pond. Just don't chop the liner with the shovel.

My bog pipe size in 2 inch, dig the new bog area, use the dirt to raise it above ground level by just a little have it flow out into your stream to the pond.
Got it, 2" pipe! What do you use for tubing from pump to bog?
 

tbendl

T
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
4,393
Reaction score
4,220
Location
Gulf Coast-Mississippi 8b
Showcase(s):
1
there are great pics of streams on HGTV and DIY network.com and pinterest and also ones on you tube and you can also google streams and I saw pics there .Hope you will have help as those liners can be heavy ,i know first hand doing it by your self is a nightmare
Yeah I hate looking at those though because most aren't built by pond owners but hired out and I trust you guys to show me stuff you've built and issues you had while building.
And handy tip, I didn't realize they would be heavy. I'll bribe some friends to come over for drinks that day then "surprise" them. They'' be so tickled... Lol
 

tbendl

T
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
4,393
Reaction score
4,220
Location
Gulf Coast-Mississippi 8b
Showcase(s):
1
I got my liner on ebay, of course I always look for a top seller with a high rating, and if possible, from a business rather than an individual.
Do you remember who you ordered through?
Got mine on sale at dr foster and smith on presidents day with free shipping and got a 20x25 but it was bigger 247 dollars .
Ah I was hoping you'd share since you're the one I thought had the liner info. :) Thank you
I could recommend the supplier in the UK I used, but shipping might be a bit steep!!:D
Hehe, maybe by a few pennies.
Good luck in your rebuild. We want pictures all the way through it! :)
And Cas... Of course, I wouldn't dream of doing it without the photo proof and running commentary. :)
 

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
5,670
Location
Pensacola, Florida
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
No the current tarp was huge. It will be slightly smaller but only on the edging area.
As long as the new liner is large enough to supply a 6" - 12" edging then you will be OK. Water should not be allowed to infiltrate the space between the two (2) liners. This will result in anoxic conditions that could present problems later on.
 
Ad

Advertisements

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
32,914
Reaction score
15,542
Location
Axton virginia
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Dr foster and smith charges for liner delivery now but you can check out webbs also or like said ebay or amazon .I would google it to see if you can find a cheaper place .how big a liner I will look it up
 

tbendl

T
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
4,393
Reaction score
4,220
Location
Gulf Coast-Mississippi 8b
Showcase(s):
1
As long as the new liner is large enough to supply a 6" - 12" edging then you will be OK. Water should not be allowed to infiltrate the space between the two (2) liners. This will result in anoxic conditions that could present problems later on.
Well crud. I mean that's the whole reason to put the new liner in is fear of the old one leaking. :( Could I put it in until the water adjusts and then pull it out at a later date?

Dr foster and smith charges for liner delivery now but you can check out webbs also or like said ebay or amazon .I would google it to see if you can find a cheaper place .how big a liner I will look it up
And probably 20x25, same as you. Thank you!!
 

tbendl

T
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
4,393
Reaction score
4,220
Location
Gulf Coast-Mississippi 8b
Showcase(s):
1
Meyer,
The issue is I can't really afford to buy a full pool and the new liner. I'm trying to find a way to move the fish out and back in that will be the least stressful and least expensive. You know, a miracle solution...
 
Ad

Advertisements

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
31,395
Reaction score
19,159
Location
Arlington, Washington
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
That's what I was wondering @Meyer Jordan if the old liner has any holes in it water could get between the two and cause problems. Would it be better to put the old liner down first, use it as a protection for the new one from rocks? Not sure I would even bother w/the old one at all. If you get a good new one it should do fine. Maybe put some holes in old one if none so water can drain out from between them w/old liner underneath?

@tbendl I see you just posted more info. Not sure I understand about the new liner? When you say full pool?
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top