Summerizing (Starting) A Previously Set-Up Pond

Reaction score
hey guys, first time posting here, my parents bought a new house while I was away at college, and they have a small pond in the back yard. The pond's roughly 6x6 feet, and only a few feet deep, with a decent sized (long) creek/waterfall flowing into it. I have extensive experience in setting up aquariums, but I've never tackled a pond before. I have no idea how to start up a pond in the spring, but we want to do it soon, as algae growth is already becoming a problem in the stagnant pond.

The following are a few pix I took of what appear to be a couple timers and one outlet box, and then the filter/pump area. My parents don't think that any additional cords have to be run to the pond, apparently everything's already set up electrically/wiring-wise, so I'm not sure what the outlet box is for. The pump housing has a foam insert, just a block that's as wide as the box, and about 3 inches thick. There are two bulkheads on the side opposite where I believe the inlet is, which is just a rectangular hole in the side of the box. There's a mesh net with two poles that hold it in the box like a net, I'm guessing the pump goes in there to protect it from large debris?

I couldn't take any pictures of the pump, it's submerged in a five gallon bucket, where it's been since it was taken out last fall. No idea why it's submerged in water, but on the off-chance that it's something important, I decided to leave it in the bucket. Basically guys, what steps do I have to take to gather more information, or to set up the pond to at least get water circulating. Also we have a algae-away product, and a one that clears the water, and apparently lowers ammonia and other toxins. I'll get pix/names of those when I can. Thanks for the help guys, if you have any questions or need any additional information please ask and I'll get it.

IMAG0202.jpg

IMAG0203.jpg

IMAG0204.jpg

IMAG0205.jpg

IMAG0206.jpg

IMAG0208.jpg

IMAG0207.jpg