Tadpoles

Reaction score
Hi there,
I am new to the pond world. Been having some algae issues and was looking into tadpoles as one possible part of a solution. I have already added more filtration and just bought an umbrella and some plants to help with more shade and using up the extra nutriants. Back to tadpoles here are the questions that come to mind.
1. What happens when they turn to frogs? What kind of care is required for frogs?
2. They need to be able to get out of the pond right? I currently have a net on my pond. Do they stay around? Or do they wander off?
3. I have a skimmer set up is there concern for them getting in there?
4. Any dog owners have insight? I am a little nervous if I have a frog jumping around that my dog will try to play with it and possibly hurt it?
5. Lastly I have gardeners and while I know I can tell them to "watch out" I have concern of the frogs getting hurt by gardening equipment...my backyard is filled with lush green plants so they could easily blend and be missed I think.
6. Any bad things about frogs I should be prepared for? Do they get in houses and cause damage or anything like that?

Any insight is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
I'm not sure frogs eat algae. I know they eat bugs, even birds....just not sure about algae. Mine have come and gone, currently I don't sen to have any. I used to buy bull frog tadpoles, but my koi just ate them!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
If anything frogs may wander off. You don't have to really worry about them. They manage on their own fine and will help keep the insect population around the pond down. Personally I don't like bullfrogs. They get too big and will eat almost anything. In some states they are illegal to sell or transport. Unfortunately most of the tadpoles you see for sale are bullfrogs.

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hi there,