UV filters HELP!!!!!

Reaction score
I want to purchase a UV filter with a backwash on it..My pond is 2000 gl, I see that some are very expensive and some aren't (ebay) ..They look pretty much the same and being a newbie, I could really use some help here. Backwashing sounds great as I am sick of dumping, and cleaning these filters all the time.. Any suggestions??? Thank you so much.
Joyce

Reaction score
I'm so sorry.. Not sure what you mean?? This one I'm looking at is the Tetra Pond BP 4000.
Why wouldn't I want a backwash?? Is my pond too big?

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
I think they are talking about a filter that has a UV light in the filter. My buddy got this one for his 3000 gallon pond to go with the filter he already had. It did a fantastic job, easy to clean, very functional design, has the port for the backflush however he did have to purchase a 2" valve and pipe to use the backflush. It did not come with the tubing or pipe to set it up either but the pump worked very good, the UV light is more than you need and probably does not need to be run but for a few weeks to clear the water and it's able to be plumbed to the filter or off to the side either way. For the money I thought it was a surprisingly good functioning filter although in the details it is way over rated for the size pond. 2000 gallons is about the limit of what I would ever depend on that filter by itself and even then I would not go heavy stocked.
http://cgi.ebay.com/7800-Gallon-Pon...142?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cb7ab2bbe

Reaction score