Convert swimming pool to natural pool/pond

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
zone 9b
Country
United States
Hello everyone, I'm a complete newbie here. Tried to do some search of how to convert swimming pool to natural pool/pond here, but did not see one in the same situation. Anyway, I have a swimming pool (used to be chlorinated, but haven't maintained or added any chemicals for over a year now). The water has turned green with lots of algae. The size is about 18ftx24ft with about 6ft depth, and it's made of concrete and lined with tiles. It has pool pump and vacuum. There are a 18x5 area with 5in depth, and a few steps of 2ft or 4ft depth in the four corners.

Now I don't want to add any more chemicals to the water (kids and myself are very sensitive to chemicals). I want to convert it to a natural pond. If we can still swim in it that would be fantastic. But I don't know how to get started. Should I start with cleaning the algae manually? Then bring in the plants? Should I add pea gravels or sand bags to build a plant area? Any suggestions are welcome. Thank you!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Welcme and there are lots of videos on youtube how to do it .Have you thought of changing the pool to a salt water pool .I have a friend back in NJ that changed hers and she loves it and she says much cheaper to maintain and safer ,she changed it because she wanted a pool in the new house and got it but found out what it took to maintain .She went to a pool supply house and they gave her info and lots of support .She now has her dream pond with less work and smell

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome! Where are you located? Are you going to have fish?

Yes, there are lots of YouTube videos out there, but I have no real advice for you other than that.

BTW, algae is your friend, and in a pond, it’s going to happen — part of the ecosystem.

j.w

I Love my Goldies