Garden Overhaul including Ponds and Streams

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

We are total newbies to garden ponds, but now we're having our garden landscaped and as we've always wanted one we're putting some in... Probably two, it has yet to be finalised.

We'd like to put fish in one of the ponds, and I keep tropical fish so I know a bit about filters and cycling, but I have no pond experience.

Part of the garden is also being given over to a garden railway for my brother, so there will be streams as part of the landscaping around that. There will also be bridges and trains and such around the water :)

The idea is to have a waterfall from the right up near the house which will both go straight down 2m and also feed a small stream which will feed a pond (via a series of water falls) which will lead to another stream, which will feed another smaller pond, which will feed another stream and another pond, which will be the splash pool from the first water fall, which will contain a pump to bring it all back up to the top again.

I have had some advice in this thread: https://www.gardenpondforum.com/topic/13171-hello-from-berkshire/

I will be updating this thread as we go, and asking about different types of filter, pump, etc etc :)

I have some pictures of the garden as it is now, stripped out and muddy.

Also, we have a river at the bottom of the garden (past the wall of railway sleepers), it is a summer bourn, which means it is only there in the summer and disappears in October to come back in April.

I look forward to foruming with you :D

Attachments

• WP_20131108_001.jpg
    WP_20131108_001.jpg
    69.1 KB · Views: 379
  • WP_20131108_002.jpg
    WP_20131108_002.jpg
    64.4 KB · Views: 407
  • WP_20131108_003.jpg
    WP_20131108_003.jpg
    69.7 KB · Views: 375

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States